Select Page

How To Undo and Delete Sent Messages on WhatsApp

by | Nov 2, 2017 | Social Media

WhatsApp has recently rolled out an update that allows for the deletion of sent messages in the app. For better or for worse, it’s now a feature in the Facebook-owned messaging platform. If you ever find yourself in it and have sent a message (or by heavens, an embarrassing picture), by mistake, here’s a quick guide on how to undo and delete send messages on WhatsApp.

  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
  2. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  3. Tap Delete  > Delete for Everyone.

There’s a catch, though. This is not exactly a “delete sent messages” feature as much as it is an “undo” one. See, only messages sent in the past seven minutes can be deleted for everyone; older messages shall forever remain in your WhatsApp thread unless both of you choose to delete messages “for yourself” individually.

There’s another catch, still: Messages that are successfully deleted for everyone will be replaced with a prompt that “this message was deleted”. WhatsApp will only aid you in deleting what you’ve sent in the past minutes, but will not be of help when it’s time to explain what that deleted message contained.

All the same, an “undo” or “delete sent messages” feature is still welcome especially in such a nude selfie, dick-pic-infested virtual world. Use this feature wisely!

Source: WhatsApp // Featured Image: Armando Dela Cruz

About The Author

Armando Dela Cruz

Friendly neighborhood nerdboy, at your service. Follow me on Twitter: @armanddc.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.